top of page

Welcome to my Blog!

My name is Amber, I'm 19 and at the age of 17, in January 2014, I made the heartbreaking decision to drop out of college. Because of this, some people might call me a failure, which is certainly something I believed at the time. I was destined to go to university and be successful academically. However after 6 months of A levels I was too stressed and realised higher education was not for me. But in my opinion I’m not your typical A Level dropout.

As soon as I left school I began looking for a job. A week later I found one in my local deli. I worked there for nine months. Using my wages from this weekend job I set up my own bag making business which was relatively successful. I even featured on the front page of the Leicester Mercury business magazine which was a bit of a shock if I'm honest! Since then I have had numerous barmaid and waitressing jobs. During this time I have also lived and worked in Norfolk and London.

So that has been my life for the last 3 years! Its certainly been crazy and sometimes a bit stressful but I can honestly say, for me, dropping out of school was the best decision I have ever made. I am certainly worried about the future but I really don't see me not going university to be a major disadvantage. Compared to my friends, I will have 5 more years of work experience by the time they graduate. I also hope to have an established business in 2 years time, which I am sure you will find out more in my future blog posts.

Well enough about my life story, this blog is all about the now and the future! My life, as I am sure you will find out, is a bit crazy! I am very spontaneous, for example booking a one way flight to Barcelona and flying out 4 hours later! I also love going out, especially to live music gigs around the UK and Europe! So follow my mad life and fun adventures and discover what it is like to be an a level drop out. I will also post some advise and thoughts about my opinion on further education. And expect some random posts too such as DIY tuorials (I am a woman of many talents :P)

I will post a blog at least every Sunday and I will post more if my week has turned out to be particularly exciting! Also, every Sunday I will publish a vlog! (got to admit I'm a bit nervous about this but I'm sure it will work out fine)

Thank you for reading my first of hopefully many blog posts. Please leave comments below. maybe you could let me know if you are a college drop out too or a random comment to make me laugh :)

Until next time, (probably Sunday)

Amber

x

Hope you all have a great week!


Follow Us
  • Twitter Basic Black
  • Facebook Basic Black
  • Black Google+ Icon
Recent Posts
bottom of page